DEV Community

Cover image for Blender Animations and THREE.js - MEOW!
Anna Villarreal
Anna Villarreal

Posted on

Blender Animations and THREE.js - MEOW!

First experience with Blender! (and 3-D modeling, really) Took a fun dive into blender today and made a cat of sorts. I successfully created a brief animation. Not to difficult.

purple robotic cat

In fact, it was an awesome experience. Should have tried this before. Now, of course, I want to put my already-animated cat on the web using Three.js. Its turning out to be more complicated than expected.

I did, however manage to get the cat loaded using the GLTFLoader. Nice and easy. But, I am stuck trying to figure out how to make the animations appear. I tried a few things, including:

  • making separate keyframe png files
  • adding a clock
  • calling mixer

I've been digging for answers for a few hours and would love feedback on this matter. I did find some fun moving grass which I successfully added to the file.

3D cat sitting in grass

We've really gotta figure our this animation business. I have like half an idea what's going on. What's your finest input on the matter?

Top comments (0)