DEV Community

Mingming Ma
Mingming Ma

Posted on

Beginning Open Source Development!

My name is Mingming Ma and I'm very excited to take the Open Source Development course because I think open source projects can offer a great chance to work on real-world software and gain huge practical experience and I believe this course can provide me with valuable insights into how to further enhance my skills.

After this term, my goal is to actively contribute to projects, particularly those with a strong emphasis on front-end development, as I have a keen interest in web development. I'm also intrigued by iOS development, so I'm eager to explore and put in the effort to make progress in that area.

As a result, I've chosen the ant-design project because it aligns perfectly with my interests. It offers documentation in both English and Chinese, which is particularly beneficial for me, allowing me to understand and get started with the project more efficiently, given that I am a Chinese native. More importantly, it's a highly active community, which means I'll have more chances to get involved in the project. I'm eager to dive in and look forward to the learning and challenges ahead!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dibyajyotimahanta profile image
Dibya Jyoti Mahanta

How should I start my #opensource journey?

Collapse
 
mingming-ma profile image
Mingming Ma

Hi! I'm also just starting out, and after thinking about what I can do to help with your questions, I thought maybe I could contribute to your repositories. I believe starting with something small is also a good beginning. Please let me know if you need any assistance!