DEV Community

Mingming Ma
Mingming Ma

Posted on

Open-Source development activities: reviewing and being reviewed of my tool txt2html

During this week's OSD course, I was tasked with developing a tool to convert text files into HTML files, which can be quite useful for static site generation. I found the task a bit challenging when attempting to use JavaScript. Therefore, I decided to tackle it with Python, as I have more experience in handling files with Python. I might consider redeveloping it in JavaScript during my free time to enhance my Node.js skills.

The good news is that the development process is progressing smoothly, and I successfully connected with my reviewer through Slack. Initially, I thought finding a reviewer might be challenging since I posted my request on a Friday, and many of my fellow students had already completed their projects.

Now, let's take a look at the issues in our projects:

Issues for my project:

Issue 1 | This issue is about me lacking some essential details in the README and information that would help users understand how to use the program effectively.

Issue 2 | This issue is about enhancing the tool's version and help messages, which needed more detailed information on how to use the program with the command.

Issue 3 | This issue dealt with the optional features in the project were not documented or explained. He suggested that new features that could be added to the document plan.

Issue 4 | This issue focused on how the tool handled spaces in HTML. He suggested including
tags to accurately reflect the text documents being processed.

Issue 5 | This issue is about the code formatting problems and the need to add a couple more comments in the program for better readability.

Issues for my partner's project:

Issue 1 | These issues primarily involved reformatting the README document to make it more user-friendly and optimized.

Issue 2 | I addressed the need to display the differences between different versions and create a changelog to document these changes in the README.

Issue 3 | This issue concerned an error in the help message that incorrectly explained how to use the program.

Issue 4 | Similar to the first issue, this involved reformatting the README document for constant styling to improve user-friendliness.

Issue 5 | This issue is about hard code so it could be expanded upon in the future so I suggested to make it able to avoid to fulfill future requirements.

I've addressed all the issues, and I must say, dealing with these problems turned out to be highly beneficial for improving the documentation of my project and ensuring that my program meet all the required specifications. Throughout this process, I gained valuable experience in both initiating and resolving issues on GitHub. Moreover, thoroughly testing another individual's program provided me with valuable insights, reaffirming the idea that there's much to learn from reviewing someone else's code.

Top comments (0)