DEV Community

a.infosecflavour
a.infosecflavour

Posted on

Unbreakable 2024: secrets-of-winter

You better watch out, you better not cry...

If I caught your interest with this Christmas song, give it a shot and listen to this while doing the challenge. 🎶🎺🎷

Heya, steganography is a vast ocean, do you want to begin swimming out there? With this Unbreakable challenge, you have the great chance.😺

secrets-of-winter
The description is telling us there are some secret messages. Do you remember easy-hide challenge? If not, this is the post where I wrote about it.

I'll use again Aperi'solve, in hope to find something there.

What catches my interest is👇

exiftool
Let's go to CyberChef and insert our pieces of evidence.

🍀the magic wand is here to help

flag-piece

flag-piece2

Ok, I did not mention that in the beginning, but the flag format is also a great hint for us:

chal

By now, we have 3 words. Our 🧠 says "f1ni$h-th3-ch4l1" are those. Where are the other 3️⃣?
Well, another thing catches my interest is this output 👇

zsteg
However, my trials to decrypt the text were bound to
échec.

So, given that is a steganography and not a forensic challenge, maybe there is something something hidden in the picture. And I was right! 💡 With a veery careful look, we can discover that here resides our first 🕒 words
flag.

Santa Claus is comin' to town
Santa Claus is comin' to town

And has the flag for you! 🎅 Did you find it?

Top comments (0)