DEV Community

Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week? 🙌

Ayo! 🙌

Friday has arrived and for many of us that means the work week is over.

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Watching old cartoons 📺

Nigel Thornberry from The Wild Thornberrys cartoon show is dancing his arms in a goofy way and just being all-around silly.

Top comments (68)

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Just crossed 13k followers and 5k post reactions on DEV 🎉

Bobby Iliev, 13k Dev.to followers

Collapse
 
_ndeyefatoudiop profile image
Ndeye Fatou Diop

Congrats 🙌

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Thanks a lot 🙌

Collapse
 
schalkneethling profile image
Schalk Neethling

Well done!

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Thank you 🙌

Collapse
 
bybydev profile image
byby

That's huge

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Thank you 🙌

Collapse
 
johnboris profile image
John

You are dev.to's ⭐.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

🙏

Collapse
 
qyrusai profile image
Qyrus

Congrats on this!

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Thanks 🙌

Thread Thread
 
qyrusai profile image
Qyrus

Thank you!

Collapse
 
steeve profile image
Steeve

Congrats @bobbyiliev, I also reached 12000 followers! However, the Follow rate increased a lot during the past week, and I'm wondering if they are mostly bots because the ratio of views/engagement did not increase much.

I'm not saying that to get more views/comments; my question is: Is there an increase of bots recently on Dev?

Image description

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Hey @steeve! Nice, congrats 🙌

Not 100% if those are bots, I've just gone through your profile and it looks like you've been quite active the past few weeks. I've noticed the more good quality content you create, the more followers you get.

For example, for me, the past few weeks, I've had very very few new followers as I've not published any new content.

Thread Thread
 
steeve profile image
Steeve

Yes my regular posting is probably the main reason, thought, when I take a look at the new subscribers, most of them are fresh new accounts

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Congratulations! 🎉

Collapse
 
qyrusai profile image
Qyrus

Our dev team launched an API testing cloud! You can check it out here

Collapse
 
steeve profile image
Steeve

The animated background of the login page is neat, congrats on the launch @qyrusai
Image description

Collapse
 
qyrusai profile image
Qyrus

Thank you so much! Yeah the team worked really hard to make sure it all looks very clean and crisp!

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Nice! Congrats!

Collapse
 
johnboris profile image
John

congrats🎉

Collapse
 
qyrusai profile image
Qyrus

Thank you!

Collapse
 
ezpieco profile image
Ezpie

spent 1 day without screen time.... yeah.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

That is amazing! I should try this too!

Collapse
 
ezpieco profile image
Ezpie

Yeah, you should give it a try. I mean I was touching grass and breathing air! How cool is that?

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

I have been doing that every Sunday for the past few years. Cheers!

Collapse
 
ezpieco profile image
Ezpie

I should do this a lot more often. It sounds great. Now I am sure I will not get angry at another bug from now on.

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Master Github
Work on Cloudflare.
Discover OCR and biometric and Numpy.
Master some codes in notifications.
Write an commercial article on Linkedln
Now I'm going to discover a new CDN, because Cloudflare doesn't satisfy expectations.

Collapse
 
steeve profile image
Steeve

Congrats on all those goals and experience earned @heyeasley
For the CDN, take a look at Bunny.net ;)

Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭 • Edited

When I paste link, browser says that website isn't secured. That's bad.

Thread Thread
 
steeve profile image
Steeve

Strange, I have no issue on my side, the SSL certificate is good:

Image description

Thread Thread
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭 • Edited

Ok. Thank you too much. I look for free plan for a basic website. Yours is free 14 days. Do you know lasting free plan ?

Thread Thread
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆ • Edited

The s in the https// means "secure" which means that the site is secure (because it is encrypted).

Collapse
 
_ndeyefatoudiop profile image
Ndeye Fatou Diop

Been featured as top dev for last week with this post 😌 => dev.to/_ndeyefatoudiop/37-tips-fro...

Collapse
 
johnboris profile image
John

This is helpful article.
Thank you and congrats!🎁

Collapse
 
_ndeyefatoudiop profile image
Ndeye Fatou Diop

Thanks!

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Wrote a blog post (well, finished it -- it's been in the works for a few weeks) for the first time in 6 months. I also have a research paper focusing on the negative effects of ChatGPT that I plan to publish as a blog post soon, which is pretty neat.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆ • Edited

Congratulations! 🎉 I read your article and I love it. Thank you for speaking up on such an important matter! ✨

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Thank you so much!

Collapse
 
pavlosisaris profile image
Paul Isaris

I managed to find the courage to get back to technical writing, and made a new post after over a year!

Collapse
 
steeve profile image
Steeve

Keep it up 💪 It's not easy to get started writing again after a long time, but the result is so satisfying in the end!!

Collapse
 
schalkneethling profile image
Schalk Neethling

Great! Well done on putting yourself out there. It is not easy, but we need more voices sharing their knowledge and voice.

Collapse
 
steeve profile image
Steeve
Collapse
 
heyeasley profile image
heyeasley 🍓🥭

Cool.

Collapse
 
schalkneethling profile image
Schalk Neethling

I can finally announce that I will be joining Factorial.io as a senior frontend engineer! Stoked and super grateful.

Collapse
 
steeve profile image
Steeve

A new job is a big life step, congrats @schalkneethling 🙌

Collapse
 
schalkneethling profile image
Schalk Neethling

Thank you so much.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Oh wow, GREAT news! 😀 Congratulations! 🎉

Collapse
 
logarithmicspirals profile image
logarithmicspirals

Finally fixed a very tricky bug. The project I've been working on uses a third-party library with not-so-good documentation. The descriptions for some parameters are not accurate and caused a lot of confusion. Feels like an accomplishment though because now there are better tests in place to prevent the same problems from resurfacing in the future.

Collapse
 
carlarjenkins profile image
Carlarjenkins

My win this week is graduating with an associates degree in Applied Business. Even though I a BA and MBA, I've upskilled quite a bit learning more about social media, data science, Power BI and R programming.

Collapse
 
adriens profile image
adriens

My country (New-Caledonia) faces hard times and is now under "emergency state".
In this context, even with lack of food and sleep, I managed to produce something hopefully helful. Hopefully i'll can help my country with skils and data :

Collapse
 
lexlohr profile image
Alex Lohr

My PR to solid-cli was merged. Now, Solid.js is the first framework (AFAIK) that allows you to add Tauri support to your web app after it is created instead of you having to create a new template and port over the code.

Collapse
 
nelsonfigueroa profile image
Nelson Figueroa

I'm a bit late to this but I published a new post. This is definitely a bit of a gray area ethically but I had fun :3

Collapse
 
itschristinamba profile image
Christina Pacheco

I start my computer programming classes!

Collapse
 
offirmo profile image
Offirmo

Congrats mate!