DEV Community

Cover image for Explain me Docker like I'm 5 🐳
Aditya
Aditya

Posted on

Explain me Docker like I'm 5 🐳

I only know that it's logo is a whale.


A cute docker logo

Source:

Cheers ✌

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
pxlmastrxd profile image
Pxlmastr • Edited

Docker is a command-line application that helps manage containers. Containers are tiny little systems you can run inside of your main system. They are nice to have because they are disconnected from the rest of the system, so security is tighter. Docker consists of two big parts: the daemon and the client. The daemon stores containers you can use, and the client runs the containers. If you need any further explanation, feel free to ask.
5: cowntaineer ees a teeny compoper in a compooper πŸ‘Ά

Collapse
 
justjay30a7i profile image
Jawdat Tayfour

There is no repost button on Dev.to but I'd definitely repost this. haha