DEV Community

Glenn Stovall
Glenn Stovall

Posted on

What Platform Do You Use For Blogging, and Why?

Hey All, curious what platforms you are using for writing now, and why? I'm researching some options for future projects and would love to hear what everyone else is using.

I'll Start:
My personal site GlennStovall.com, is hosted on WordPress. Mostly because it has been for years and I haven't carved out time to move to something else. I also syndicate content here on dev.to and on Medium.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
donvitocodes profile image
donvitocodes

I currently use Ghost for my blog melvinvivas.com. However, I plan to move change it to a new arch - CMS(haven't chosen which)+Gatsby so I can have my entire blog served as static files.

I suggest you try Gatsby gatsbyjs.org. It doesn't have a built-in CMS though like Wordpress. I tried Netlify CMS and for me, it is good enough for blogging.

Collapse
 
gsto profile image
Glenn Stovall • Edited

I've been trying out Gatsby for projects at work and I'm enjoying it so far. Also exploring Contentful or Prismic as potential headless CMS options.

Collapse
 
girisagar46 profile image
Sagar Giri • Edited

I use pelican to build my website. I've integrated the build and deploy workflow in Travis ci. Build automation script is done by fabric library. And I use github.io for hosting. girisagar46.github.io

Everything is 100% free.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Similar story here. My personal site is on a Wordpress self-host instance. I cross-post any posts there to dev.to.

I'd like to move to static site generator like Jekyll or Gatsby. I would like to have more control over the layout, etc without having to worry too much about logging into my host, database, stuff, etc.

It's on my to-do list 😬

Collapse
 
sonnk profile image
Nguyen Kim Son

I use gohugo.io (it's really fast).

Collapse
 
alansolitar profile image
Alan Solitar

I Use Wordpress because of all the plugins.

Collapse
 
leonardofaria profile image
Leonardo Faria

Wordpress since 2005 - leonardofaria.net

Like you, I post there and here. Moving is not my priority as well, but Hugo looks cool.

Collapse
 
gsto profile image
Glenn Stovall

Wow, you built a whole static site generator in a gulpfile? That's awesome!

Collapse
 
missadev profile image
Missael

You can also post your articles on steemit, thats a good platform where everybody could earn crypto

steemit.com