DEV Community

Cover image for 7 years on DEV!
Chris Jarvis
Chris Jarvis

Posted on

7 years on DEV!

I've been on DEV 7 years! I just got the notice and the seven year badge. I was a lurker for the first few years. I was more active on Twitter back then.

I didn't post my blog till some time during the summer part of the pandemic. I wanted to get my thoughts out to more people so I blogged on DEV. I was Stuck at home and needed to be seen.

I felt welcomed when I posted. I shared posts with friends from Virtual Coffee and the CodeNewbie Twitter chats. But soon gained new followers here.

This badge celebrates the longevity of those who have been a registered member of the DEV Community for at least seven years.

Since then I've met more people here and made some friends. I've given back by becoming a trusted member and help to point out interesting blog posts and report the spam. I try to spend some time each week to welcome new members.

My numbers of readers might not be as high as some writers and that's fine. I do have more followers here than on the dead bird site. I write what I find interesting and hope someone else enjoys it.

If you're lurking take this as a push to comment on other posts and then start writing. I'll take a a push to get back to blogging regularly.

I have a couple unfinished drafts and just had a new ideal for a post tonight.

Follow me here or on Mastodon

-$JarvisScript git commit -m "The seven year badge"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
erinao profile image
Erin A Olinick

Congratulations, @jarvisscript ! You're such a friendly face on DEV. I see you in the welcome thread and posting your goals each week 👀 (among many other things). Thank you for your contributions and being part of the community!

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Thanks!

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

WOW! We are so happy to have you here. Congratulations for 7 years!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

🥳🎉🎉

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Booyah!! Good stuff, Chris.

Dangit, you got me beat by a year, haha!

It really is great to have ya in the community. I appreciate you regularly sharing your goasl of the week thread (I need to get back in there btw!) and always enjoy your CSS art... especially the LEGO stuff, haha!

Just to say that you rock! 🎸

Collapse
 
jd2r profile image
DR

Congrats! That's a long time, glad to see you're keeping it up 🎉

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Woohoo!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Congrats Chris!

Hot Rod saying Cool beans!