DEV Community

Cover image for What are your goals for the week of August 28?
Chris Jarvis
Chris Jarvis

Posted on

What are your goals for the week of August 28?

What are your goals for this week?

  • What are you building?
  • What will be a good result by week's end?
  • Are you attending any events this week?
    • Any suggestions of events to attend?
  • Did you meet your goals last week?

Last Week's Goals

  • [✅] Continue Job Search.
  • [❌] Blog.
  • [✅] Code Challenges.
  • [❌] Project work
  • Events
    • Attend Virtual Coffee(VC) Thursday.
    • [✅] Other VC events if I can. Chad and Nick T were on separate live streams not VC events but that's where I met both of them. They were Certified Fresh Events.
    • [✅] Job Fair Tuesday.
    • [✅] Watch Chad Stewart talk on Certified Fresh Event.
  • [✅] Run a weekly Slack thread similar to this post. Gonna motivate the community.
  • [❌] Build some LEGO sets.
  • [✅] Rewatch Rebels before Ahsoka series starts.
  • [✅] Pack for weekend trip.

This Week's Goals

  • Continue Job Search.
  • Blog.
  • Code Challenges.
  • Project work
  • Events

  • Run a weekly Slack thread similar to this post. Gonna motivate the community.

  • Build some LEGO sets.

  • Rewatch Star Wars Rebels. I'm in the last season. But at that episode.

  • Process pics from weekend trip.

  • Add them to a website

Your Goals for the week

You've read my goals so I'll throw the questions back to you.

  • What are you building?
  • What will be a good result by week's end?
  • Are you attending any events this week?
    • Any suggestions of events to attend?
  • Did you meet your goals last week?
-$JarvisScript git push
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

First off, loving your list this week

Run a weekly Slack thread similar to this post. Gonna motivate the community.

That's a great idea. 🙌

Build some LEGO sets.

Rewatch Star Wars Rebels. I'm in the last season. But at that episode.

Aww yeah, I'm really liking your downtime activities here.

And now for mine...

For my work week, I'm going to try to:

  1. Write a fresh Featured Mod of the Month post.
  2. Award folks for the Mod Thumbs Up Contest + continue working on way to incentivize usage of the 👍 (and other mod actions).
  3. Begin drafting mod newsletter and planning for September.
  4. Finish my performance reviews
  5. Plan for and work on what we're referring to as the #Discuss Initiative, which essentially means growing the number of comments on DEV (but trying to do so in a way that's both sustainable and thoughtful)

And for fun:

  1. I'm gonna play as much music as I can.
  2. I need to edit a series of clips into a fun little video about my dog, Cora.
  3. I'd like to go fly my drone and film my wife riding her horse.
Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis • Edited

Thanks I added the non code stuff to help point out you shouldn't code all the time.

It's feels good to help encourage the community.

Collapse
 
mahseema profile image
Mahsima Dastan

Awesome.
This week I start an awesome list of my favorite AI tools and publish them with others.

Collapse
 
krlz profile image
krlz • Edited

Thank you for sharing I want to start with some list too, my problem is that i always have the feeling that I might need to change plans, but it should not stop me to make plans

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Think of it like software. You're always going to need to change something. Adjust refactor and change your goals if you have too.

Collapse
 
alaindet profile image
Alain D'Ettorre

Finish other people's work, as always