DEV Community

Cover image for What are your goals for the week of September 25?
Chris Jarvis
Chris Jarvis

Posted on

What are your goals for the week of September 25?

What are your goals for this week?

  • What are you building?
  • What will be a good result by week's end?
  • Are you attending any events this week?
    • Any suggestions of events to attend?
  • Did you meet your goals last week?

Last Week's Goals

  • [✅] Continue Job Search.
  • [✅] Blog. Here and LinkedIn
  • [✅] Code Challenges. Did CSS Battles.
  • [✅]Project work. Did some CSS art. But that's not a full project.
  • Events
    • [❌] Possibly Attend Virtual Coffee(VC) Thursday
    • [❌] Other VC events if I can.
    • [✅] Codeword Conf on Sept 21 Codeword. This conflicted with Thursday afternoon VC. So I missed VC but some members were in the chat.
  • [✅]Run a weekly Slack thread similar to this post.
  • [✅] I joined a 30 Day Accountability group on LinkedIn. It's 30 days of prompts to create content and support other group members. I'll post there daily. Last week has two prompts a day.
  • [✅] Build LEGO Sets Just some Marvel blind bag mini figs.

This Week's Goals

  • Continue Job Search.
  • Blog.
  • Prep for HacktoberFest. Sign up on Tuesday.
  • Code Challenges
  • Project work
  • Finish React course.
  • Events
    • Possibly Attend Virtual Coffee(VC) Thursday
    • Other VC events if I can.
    • RedwoodJs Wed (Virtual)
  • Run a weekly Slack thread similar to this post.
  • I joined a 30 Day Accountability group on LinkedIn. It's 30 days of prompts to create content and support other group members. I'll post there daily.
  • Build LEGO Sets

Your Goals for the week

You've read my goals so I'll throw the questions back to you.

  • What are you building?
  • What will be a good result by week's end?
  • Are you attending any events this week?
    • Any suggestions of events to attend?
  • Did you meet your goals last week?
-$JarvisScript git push
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This week is a day short for me and it's our "quiet week"... I was off yesterday for a loved one's memorial service. 💚

However, I have some things that I really wanna get done:

  1. Get caught up with scheduling out my "ritual content" (posts like my Music Monday series, What Was Your Win This Week, etc.)
  2. Write up the Featured Mod of the Month interview
  3. Get caught up with communication for our security reports (reports that come in via the form on dev.to/security)
  4. Get caught up the best I can with support emails in Front.
  5. I'm still very much processing the news that members of the DEV team were laid off. Everyone we lost was positively impactful — they were hard workers who were really good at their jobs. Not to mention, these are really thoughtful, caring people that I count as friends. To be honest, my morale is low and my mind will be preoccupied with this for the foreseeable future.
Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Sorry for your loss.

Sorry to hear of the layoffs.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Thank you, Chris! 💚

Collapse
 
jimmylipham profile image
Jimmy Lipham

What are you building?

Working on a caching proxy in Go that can communicate via redis queues back to an app written in PHP/Laravel. I need to dive a bit deeper into the internals of how Laravel represents queued jobs so that the Go side can emulate it.

What will be a good result by week's end?

  • A basic introspective HTTP/S proxy that is dropping request metadata into Redis.
  • Laravel background job workers picking up that metadata and broadcasting it
  • Laravel echo picking up those broadcast events and rendering them to the UI

Did you meet your goals last week?

Not really, work travel interrupted things. Starting fresh this week.