DEV Community

Joanne
Joanne

Posted on • Updated on

Day 4 - API w/MongoDB: Wine App Part II

This was a long time coming! I have wanted to build a Nodejs server with MongoDB and decided to learn it today to build out the web server for the bigger wine application project.

postman

Postman Preview

My training is in full-stack engineering and my marketing background involved working with SQL. So I'm just as interested in NoSQL databases and finding out how they work. It was also today that I learned NoSQL stands for "Not Only SQL" and not "No SQL".

learning

What I Learned

I worked on setting up MongoDB, making connections, building a simple schema and routes today. From my experience in building this server, I know I will enjoy using MongoDB because of it's advantages such as cloud hosting and flexible schemas. For sandboxing, I am not ashamed to use GUIs and it's awesome that Mongo has related products in one place.

How This Will Help Me

In terms of skillset, I know I just expanded on my database knowledge. But I think the bigger question is how can I effectively figure out which database to use in order to handle optimized requests? I will definitely be doing a lot of reading (or Googling) in the next coming days. I am taking the time to enjoy the feeling of being Dr. Frankenstein on pulling this off in a few hours.

it's alive

Also, I am looking forward to connecting the frontend version of this wine app to the server!

Onto the next challenge!

Top comments (0)