DEV Community

John John Penafiel
John John Penafiel

Posted on

End of Phase 1: Flatiron School NYC

Let's rewind to the beginning: week 1 at Flatiron. Classes started on Monday, April 22. On my first day, I arrived excited and ready for a new challenge. I didn't know what to expect, but I was confident in myself. However, that initial energy was quickly met with a wave of easy-going, laid-back pace. Even though I anticipated the first day to be introductory, it was still unexpected.

Things changed quickly, but it's important for me to explain day 2. We had our first real lectures, and everything was closely related to what we learned in our pre-work. That was pretty much the focus of day 2.

From day 3 to day 5, things still felt slow-paced, even though new information was accumulating. At the start of week 2, we began working on labs and challenges based on what we had learned. This week was stressful for me because I felt very new to this, even though I was. I felt like I hadn't understood things from week 1, which hindered my progress. Alongside the stressful days, there were also days where I felt on top of everything.

In summary, week 2 was a time when I quickly started to understand how to approach this type of learning. It's not like traditional college-level learning. You're not going fast during your lectures, but you're engaging every day. When it all adds up, that's when you feel the speed, the intensity, and the challenge I was seeking. With that realization, I started week 3 ready to get things done and close Phase 1 with a project of which I feel proud. And I am proud of my Phase 1 project. I created a Bible webpage that works exactly like any e-book out there. That's exactly what I wanted to achieve: create a project that seems simple, but the knowledge of creating an e-book-style website is something I can use and relate to in future projects.

To summarize the three weeks, I would say:

  • I think I have the hang of the learning method at Flatiron, but not 100%.
  • I'm starting to feel confident in creating my own solutions, but I still have a looot more to learn.
  • I didn't study for my assessment. I wanted to see how much I retained by just reading some Canvas lectures and mostly working on labs. I got a 3/4 in technical skills and conceptual skills. I'm happy with my score because it means I am absorbing information and enjoying it. But in Phase 4, I want that 4 out of 4, just for the one time.
  • I still wish I had more time to review some Canvas Phase 1 lectures. I'll try to do it this weekend.

So, that's it. I have to say that I'm lucky to have a good cohort. Everyone seems to be enjoying the bootcamp and trying to do their best.

Now it's time to send this to ChatGPT to check for grammatical errors.

GG

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
sigje profile image
Jennifer Davis

thanks for sharing your process! Wishing you all the best in your journey.