DEV Community

Mimino11
Mimino11

Posted on

The Roller-coaster Journey Of Programmer A Newbie………

You might be assuming why I’m calling it in such a way? You could think I’m trying to make you fancy/scared about programming probably. But It’s you who can decide after reading it whole if it’s scary or hard but awesome for you. I’ll tell you why here below:
-First thing first never think for once that coding skills are the only thing you need to be a good programmer. Because Anyone could be a coder but not everyone could be a programmer. A good programmer is someone who’s always curious, patient, and fascinated about their work no matter how hard it is.

  • You should never mess with mathematics if you want to be a good programmer! Well, it’s a lie that some people say, but not fully a lie. Let me explain, whether you need to know math or not it depends on the role you want to fulfill with your programming skills for example if you want to be a web developer you won’t be required knowing math for it. But when you want to be a Software Developer you’ll probably require to know a lot of math.
  • Always work on your logical thinking and problem-solving skills if you want to be a Good Programmer.

How My Journey Started In programming:

Back in October 2019, When I first got to know about programming. I was suggested to start with freecodecamp.org. Which I think to this date is a pretty awesome platform to start learning to code. I literally practiced until applied visual design without really knowing and acknowledging what to do with what I’m learning or practicing. One dumb thing I used to do is I used to take notes of whole codes of HTML, CSS and whatever was in the code. I used to think I have to memorize every line of code to be a programmer. I really don’t know why in the era of the internet anyone would do such a stupid act seriously!? Well, it’s because I was a noob and I didn’t know that there were millions of resources on the internet for helping me If I ever get stuck while working on a project. But everybody makes mistakes while starting something new.

Facing Imposter Syndrome:

Soon My motivation went drastically down it is when I was recommended a video on Clever Programmer’s YT channel. Where Qazi talks about what is the power of the Python language. So Yeah after watching that I really started learning python from Clever Programmer's 11hr course on YT. (This one is a really good course for the basics of Python). But after this for several months I was stuck in tutorial purgatory without even realizing it. I thought I’m learning so many things I’m definitely going to get a job soon. One day probably in August I read an article in https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/escape-tutorial-purgatory/. about tutorial purgatory. So, I decided to build a simple project in python and that’s when the big Usain bolt hits me hard on my face. I couldn’t write a single line without the help of a tutorial. At this point, I lost my motivation much more than before and I didn’t write a single line of code for 2 weeks. My burning desire for working on tech was still there, So I decided to explore more options. I actually spent a good amount of time exploring game development, for some days I even thought maybe I could be a good game developer. It was the little demon in my mind misguiding me which I understood after when I hated learning the art, graphics, and music part of game development. Trust me if you don’t have a great passion for gaming learning even Unity ( https://unity.com/ ) could be a really hard thing. After that, I was on hibernation for a month. This feeling of not knowing what to do with your life really sucks!

Getting A New Start:

Then a time came where I got to know about Software Development, AI, and Web Development. Artificial Intelligence fascinated me the most. But to be an AI engineer I must need a bachelor’s and Master’s degree in a relevant field. As there was no chance to have a bachelor’s degree in AI. I’ve chosen Computer Science as my major.

My Thoughts About Programming:

Programming Just doesn’t teach you how to code. It’s that magic wand that will teach you how to self-taught yourself. It’s been shown on various statistics and Glassdoor and Stackoverflow that in bigger companies the number of self-taught developers has been rising in recent years. Programmers know about time-management better than average people. Programming will always increase your logical thinking and problem-solving ability.
In the end, the best quality of Programmers I think is they know how to unlearn the thing called “Giving Up”.

Top comments (0)