DEV Community

Cover image for I am lost in a maze help me !
Dev Nandan
Dev Nandan

Posted on

I am lost in a maze help me !

Hey everyone, thanks for stopping by. I started learning web development a few months ago and am now comfortable with the MERN stack. I would like to make tech my career option. However, I've suddenly found myself lost in the maze of software development. Even though I find web development worth pursuing, I don't want to limit myself to just being a developer who creates and deploys websites. Can any of you suggest something related to web development but a bit more challenging?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
baasmurdo profile image
BaasMurdo

I would say learning soft skills (Like branches of management). At some point in your career, it is likely that you will code less & less and take more and more meetings.
While, at the same time, keeping up with the latest within the tech stack your team uses so that you can assist them and help others.

This might seem like a very obvious thing, but trust me, the earlier you start doing this the better.

Collapse
 
darkliahos profile image
Sohail Nasir

I would say make sure you are fairly versatile in your tech stack, it will help with your career as it gives you many options, also its worth understanding where you want to go in web development, do you want to go into the world of front end or would you want to tinker around in the backend or like me if you prefer both go full stack.

I would also focus on what soft skills you can bring to a company, like one of the other commenters said web development is a lot more than creating and deploying, there are a lot of other skills in play.

Collapse
 
marissab profile image
Marissa B

I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a job that's just about creating and deploying websites. That's often wrapped in with designing, testing, maintenance, troubleshooting, etc. Support is a huge genre of jobs that goes along with anything online - you can't just deploy and walk away from it! 😁

Collapse
 
nandan9 profile image
Dev Nandan

Absolutely! It's a dynamic field that requires continuous attention and effort beyond the initial deployment. 😁