DEV Community

Cover image for Use This ChatGPT HACK to Organize Your Schedule in a Minute or Less!
OpenSource
OpenSource

Posted on

Use This ChatGPT HACK to Organize Your Schedule in a Minute or Less!

Schedule, schedule, tomatoes, tomatoes. πŸ…

I was in the gym today when I had an idea.


What if I used ChatGPT to help me organize my agenda?


I know. Nothing brilliant about it, but the result was... surprising.

ChatGPT not only organized it for me but also created an .ics file for me to quickly add the events to my Google or iPhone calendar.


Yes, you heard read it. I didn't even had to run a python task. It coded and run all by itself, and answered me already with a download link:

Image description


Is this magnificent or not?


I'm sharing here the prompt I used, so hopefully you'll have the same good experience as I just had. (I'm using the paid version).

Me: You're my personal assistant helping me with defining my schedule. Ask me what you need to know.

ChatGPT: [Asked me several questions]

Me: [I answered about my fixed commitments and what I need to do daily in general terms]

ChatGPT: [Suggested an agenda, which was pretty good]

Me: I need you to transform the agenda into an .ics file to download to my Google or iPhone calendar. Make it one month long from today (November 17, 2023). If you encounter an error, try a different approach. I know you can do it!


That did the trick!

"Follow me for more tips" (as if I were a YouTuber TikToker influencer πŸ˜…).

Try the GPT Schedule Helper I built on OpenAi

Are you a React enthusiast? Check out WebCrumbs

Image description

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
lebbe profile image
Lars-Erik Bruce

I didn't know ChatGPT could generate files, I have to try this out! :O

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource

It's a little stubborn sometimes. It says that it encounter an error while generating the .ics. Just ask it to try a different approach and insist!

Collapse
 
glntn101 profile image
Luke

How little it turns out I know about chat gpt, thanks for the article.

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource • Edited

Me too! Until today. You're welcome. I'm happy to share it.

Collapse
 
greg_ewin profile image
Greg Ewin

How does it handle overlapping events or conflicting schedules?