DEV Community

Ron Bronson
Ron Bronson

Posted on

Starting here

I've seen this site for a while and signed up ages ago, but I never really knew how I'd use it. Twitter engagement isn't what it used to be, but I also feel really constrained by high follower counts, a feed that's useful for keeping up with the pulse of things, but lacks the sort of connection that it used to be really good for.

I doubt I'll substitute that here. What I am looking for is a place to get ideas out, to connect, and push myself a bit to advance my practice. That used to be a blog and for a while, Tumblr provided other outlets. Lately, I haven't been able to find anywhere to substitute for that connection and working remotely has made it more acute.

I'll consider it a win if I can start doing what I used to do online; writing and delving into ideas more fully. I'm working on a few things I'm sort of excited about, but I need to commit to actually working at them. Twitter will have its place, but I anticipate using it like other channels where I have a specific purpose for them, rather than hoping it'll continue like a catch-all.

Most of all, I want to feel like I'm making progress again. Maybe connect old work and revisit some thinking. It's weird how I was way more prolific when I knew less than I do now. I'd love to bridge that gap a bit.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
loujaybee profile image
Lou (🚀 Open Up The Cloud ☁️)

Welcome Ron! :)

Collapse
 
jorge_codes profile image
Jorge Palacios

Welcome Ron!

Collapse
 
thebouv profile image
Anthony Bouvier

Welcome, Ron. Been a while since we've talked -- met you back in Louisville ages ago. :)