DEV Community

Cover image for My Portfolio 🤵
Rishab Kumar
Rishab Kumar

Posted on

My Portfolio 🤵

Hello fellow devs and creators🙋‍♂️

Hello everyone! This is my portfolio which was made few months ago.
I used the following :

  • HTML 💻
  • CSS 🎨
  • JavaScript ⚙

Why am I sharing this🤔:

The purpose of this post is to get some feedback, as I am a beginner in the front-end (web-dev) environment!
Let me know what you guys think and what can improved📈!

Live Site
Github

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
dawntraoz profile image
Alba Silvente Fuentes

The fun of this is that little by little you improve your portfolio with what you learn, but mother!! to be your first portfolio is incredible 😍 I really like the concept. If you saw my first portfolio you would laugh 🤦🏽‍♀️

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

We have all been there! But thanks for the feedback! ♥
And my first portfolio was this template

Collapse
 
dawntraoz profile image
Alba Silvente Fuentes

Also beautiful, clean and smooth 💜 I like it!

Collapse
 
dominikilnicki profile image
Dominik Ilnicki

Hey Rishab, I like the color schema and the design but would suggest the following changes:

  • add more padding to the containers
  • change links color, the contrast ratio is too low
  • remove bg image from the hero section, IMHO minimalistic white background will look better*
  • change that "3d animation" on hover on your portfolio site, maybe consider slide-down animation or just simple fade

But overall it looks clean and elegant, I like it!

(*) dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/...

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thanks for the feedback! will surely take those in consideration ♥

Collapse
 
kaushikrishi profile image
Kaushik Rishi

Hey !

  • In the portfolio Creative work section the Git Hub Source Code Icon is not visible on hover for the elements in the upper row.
  • Add a margin-bottom of 100px to the class .frame.col-sm-4.pb-4
.frame.col-sm-4.pb-4{
         margin-bottom : 100px;
}
Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

Couple of things:
1.Achievements and skills pages looks a bit empty on desktop view. Maybe create some card-styling for each achievement/skill and distribute them horizontally across the view?
2.I would add a small description under each project in Portfolio page, describing what problems did you solve and what tech stack did you use, without need to open them.
3.Reduce the height of the footer, if you are not planning to add an extra content there.

*I guess you built it mobile first, as it feels great on smaller screens.
Good job overall.

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thanks for the feedback! Will surely make some changes in regards to the blank space and the size of the footer. And Yeah, it was built as mobile first! ♥

Collapse
 
hey_yogini profile image
Yogini Bende • Edited

Great work Rishab!!

Coincidently even I had used the same image as a cover photo for my first portfolio!!

One quick suggestion, add some smooth transitions on hover, especially in my skills section, it will look nicer! And keep up the good work!

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thanks for the suggestion will come up with something creative! ❤️

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thanks for the feedback!
I will look into the grammatical mistakes (but 'noice' is an Easter egg for the fans of Brooklyn 99).
Will look into the padding issue.
And thank you so much again for the constructive feedback! ♥

Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

For grammar things, I like this site: hemingwayapp.com/

Free, doesn't save anywhere, just tells you your grammar checking results and some tips for things like reading level and complexity (which is nice for when you're making something for a hiring manager vs a recruiter... keep things more business friendly rather than tech savvy if the target audience isn't your immediate peers)

Collapse
 
nialljoemaher profile image
Niall Maher

Great work, added you on Twitter there 💜As a beginner I would be very proud 😁

Collapse
 
miguelthedev profile image
Miguel Sanchez

I would remove your phone number and email from your website, but if you really want to include them then change them to an email and phone number dedicated to your website, there are web crawlers that will pick up your email and number and spam you.

Collapse
 
rishabk7 profile image
Rishab Kumar

Thanks for the heads up, yeah I will remove them!✔